Awards > Maurice Godet award

This prize was launched at the 30th Leeds-Lyon Symposium on Tribology in 2003 to honour the memory of Professor Maurice Godet, one of the founders of the Leeds-Lyon Symposium on Tribology. The prize is awarded to the best paper and presentation by a registered young scientist at each Leeds-Lyon conference when hosted in Lyon.

The recipient of the 2019 Maurice Godet Award is Julia Lehmann, from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany, for her work on Velocity-dependence of tribologically-induced oxidation of high-purity copper.

Julia Lehmann (right) receives the 2019 Maurice Godet Award from Judith Harrison (left)

The winner has been announced during the closing session of the Symposium. The prize consists in a plaque and a cheque of 500 €.

The criteria considered by an international committee were as follows for this year:

  • The first author (the applicant) must be a registered PhD student or has defended his/her PhD in 2019,
  • The applicant has previously submitted a one-page abstract in the regular process (via the website before February 24, 2019). The applicant must present the paper at the symposium orally,
  • The majority of the work presented has been performed by the applicant,
  • The applicant must notify of her/his application for the prize by email to A Curriculum Vitae (2 pages max) + an extended abstract (2 pages max) must be sent as attached files (please use the templates provided with these links),
  • Deadline for submissions: Friday, June 28th, 2019.
Online user: 14 RSS Feed